Boal Law Firm, P.C.
Call Today for the Answers You Deserve 719-602-2262

Police DUI process involves many steps in Colorado

When people in Colorado have been convicted of drinking and driving, the consequences can be long lasting. For instance, in addition to having their reputations tarnished, these individuals may struggle to claim certain professional jobs in the future. Fortunately, those facing DUI charges are always presumed innocent unless and until their guilt is proved in court.

After a person in Colorado has been pulled over for suspected drunk driving due to noticeable behavior, police evaluate if he or she is under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Authorities look at the person's overall symptoms as well as his or her driving behavior and how the person performs on a field sobriety test. This test is designed to examine the coordination of a driver and involves having the driver place his or her right front on a line in front of his or her left foot.

A driver may also be given a Breathalyzer test. If the person refuses to take this test, he or she can face penalties such as having his or her driver's license revoked. A first DUI offense is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor in Colorado, leading to a fine of $5,000. Meanwhile, a fourth DUI offense is deemed a felony; a bond of $3,000 is set in this situation, and the accused may face seven years behind prison bars.

When a person is charged with a DUI, he or she has the right to go directly to trial to fight the charges. The individual may also be given the chance to plea bargain with prosecutors, which may lead to a reduced charges or a lighter sentence than what he or she would face if found guilty at trial. The criminal defense will focus on achieving an outcome that is in the defendant's best interests in Colorado.

Source: krdo.com, "Law enforcement shows DUI process in hopes drivers will celebrate New Year's responsibly", Angelica Lombardi, Dec. 29, 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information